DFX Intelligence
Venture Capital Intelligence
Firms, funds, partners, companies and rounds from sworn filings, firm sites and announcements, kept as a graph with a date and a source on every edge. Facts, inferences and estimates are labelled as such. A fund target is never a close, GAV is never dry powder, and a round size is never an investor’s check.
Firms / Aberdare Management Company, LLC
Aberdare Management Company, LLC
Aberdare Ventures is the leading venture capital firm focused exclusively on transformational companies that enable more efficient, less costly, smarter healthcare.
venture manager, reported GAV $58M across 1 vehicles
Importance
12
low
Active deployment
0
low
Emerging
0
low
Completeness
56
elevated
Freshness
100
high
Research priority
3
low
Identity and regulatory footprint
- Headquarters
- San Francisco, CAadviserinfo.sec.gov
- Office address
- 38 KEYES AVENUE, SUITE 119, San Francisco, CA, 94129adviserinfo.sec.gov
- Business phone
- 415-392-7442adviserinfo.sec.gov
- Website
- HTTP://WWW.ABERDARE.COM/
- SEC adviser type
- exempt reporting adviseradviserinfo.sec.gov
- SEC exemption claimed
- venture capital fund adviseradviserinfo.sec.govItem 2.B(1): advises solely venture capital funds
- Latest Form ADV
- Feb 3, 2026
- Private funds reported
- 1 (1 venture capital funds)adviserinfo.sec.gov
- Private fund gross assets
- $28.6Madviserinfo.sec.govreported GAV of the funds, the adviser's own number; not fund size, not dry powder
- business phone
- 415-392-7442adviserinfo.sec.govpublished by the subject
Stated thesis versus observed behaviour
no observed deals yet
Stated (the firm’s website)
- Sectors
- healthcare
- Stages
- not stated or not yet read
- Geography
- not stated
- Check size
- not stated; DFX does not estimate checks from round sizes
- Self-described
- venture capital
Observed (from deals on record)
Stage at participation: no observed deals yet
Stage at first entry: no observed deals yet
Sectors: no observed deals yet
lead rate n/afollow-on rate n/anew logos, 12 months 0
Funds and vehicles
1 reported, 4 no longer reported
| Vehicle | Type | Vintage | Lifecycle | Reported GAV | Owners | Form D sold | Latest Form D |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aberdare Ventures IV, LP | Fund | unknown | Unknown | $58.4M Mar 8, 2024 | 19 | unknown | unknown |
| Aberdare Ventures II, LP | Fund | unknown | Wound down | $22.9M Mar 24, 2014 | 24 | unknown | unknown |
| Aberdare II Annex Fund, LP | Continuation vehicle | unknown | Wound down | $9.8M Mar 24, 2014 | 24 | unknown | unknown |
| Aberdare Ventures II (bermuda), LP | Fund | unknown | Wound down | $522,816 Mar 24, 2014 | 3 | unknown | unknown |
| Aberdare Ventures III, L.P. | Fund | unknown | Wound down | $0 Mar 20, 2023 | 50 | unknown | unknown |
GAV is the gross asset value the adviser reported on Form ADV for the vehicle, never the fund’s committed size and never dry powder. Form D sold is the amount sold as of the latest filing, never a final close.
Investment team
1 current, 1 departed
Paul Henry Klingenstein
Managing partnerManaging Member · since Apr 1, 1999
1 departed (kept with end dates)
- John Hansen Odden · Chief Operating Officer · Jul 1, 2001 to Mar 25, 2020 Inference
Investments on record
0 edges, 0 companies, 0 partner-attributed
No investment on record yet. Edges arrive from the firm’s portfolio page, financing announcements, and Form D board seats.
Co-investors
0 relationships from shared deals, counted for the whole firm
No co-investor relationship yet: these are derived only from rounds and portfolio listings the graph has seen both investors on.
Limited partners
0 disclosed
No LP commitment on record. An LP edge needs a public disclosure with a quote: a pension report (see Limited partners for the plans read), a fund announcement naming the LP, or a Form ADV owner. The fund page carries the LP’s reported performance.
Timeline
11 dated events
- Mar 8, 2024Aberdare Ventures III, L.P. no longer reported on Form ADV by Aberdare Management Company, LLCFund no longer reportedFundsInferenceAberdare Ventures III, L.P.SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- Mar 25, 2020John Hansen Odden (Chief Operating Officer) no longer on Schedule A of Aberdare Management Company, LLC
- Mar 17, 2015Aberdare Ventures II, LP no longer reported on Form ADV by Aberdare Management Company, LLCFund no longer reportedFundsInferenceAberdare Ventures II, LPSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- Mar 17, 2015Aberdare Ventures II (bermuda), LP no longer reported on Form ADV by Aberdare Management Company, LLCFund no longer reportedFundsInferenceAberdare Ventures II (bermuda), LPSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- Mar 17, 2015Aberdare II Annex Fund, LP no longer reported on Form ADV by Aberdare Management Company, LLCFund no longer reportedFundsInferenceAberdare II Annex Fund, LPSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- Mar 30, 2012Aberdare Management Company, LLC first filed Form ADV (ERA, venture capital fund adviser exemption)First SEC adviser filingOrganizationFactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- Mar 30, 2012Aberdare Ventures II (bermuda), LP first reported on Form ADV by Aberdare Management Company, LLC (Venture Capital Fund), GAV $197,074Fund first reported on Form ADVFundsFactAberdare Ventures II (bermuda), LPSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- Mar 30, 2012Aberdare II Annex Fund, LP first reported on Form ADV by Aberdare Management Company, LLC (Venture Capital Fund), GAV $5,345,978Fund first reported on Form ADVFundsFactAberdare II Annex Fund, LPSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- Mar 30, 2012Aberdare Ventures II, LP first reported on Form ADV by Aberdare Management Company, LLC (Venture Capital Fund), GAV $8,800,001Fund first reported on Form ADVFundsFactAberdare Ventures II, LPSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- Mar 30, 2012Aberdare Ventures III, L.P. first reported on Form ADV by Aberdare Management Company, LLC (Venture Capital Fund), GAV $66,992,227Fund first reported on Form ADVFundsFactAberdare Ventures III, L.P.SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- Mar 30, 2012Aberdare Ventures IV, LP first reported on Form ADV by Aberdare Management Company, LLC (Venture Capital Fund), GAV $117,401,569Fund first reported on Form ADVFundsFactAberdare Ventures IV, LPSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
Classification history
- Sep 12, 2026Institutional venture firm (confirmed, 95%, cls-1)venture manager, reported GAV $58M across 1 vehicles
Evidence
55 observations from 3 sources