Firms, funds, partners, companies and rounds from sworn filings, firm sites and announcements, kept as a graph with a date and a source on every edge. Facts, inferences and estimates are labelled as such. A fund target is never a close, GAV is never dry powder, and a round size is never an investor’s check.

Firms / Venbio Partners LLC

Venbio Partners LLC

Institutional venture firmSan Francisco, CAvenbio.comSEC venture capital fund adviser

venture manager, reported GAV $943M across 3 vehicles

Importance
36
elevated
Active deployment
29
moderate
Emerging
0
low
Completeness
69
high
Freshness
100
high
Research priority
13
low
Identity and regulatory footprint
Headquarters
San Francisco, CAadviserinfo.sec.gov
Office address
1700 OWENS STREET, SUITE 595, San Francisco, CA, 94158-0008adviserinfo.sec.gov
Business phone
(415) 800-0800adviserinfo.sec.gov
SEC adviser type
exempt reporting adviseradviserinfo.sec.gov
SEC exemption claimed
venture capital fund adviseradviserinfo.sec.govItem 2.B(1): advises solely venture capital funds
Latest Form ADV
Mar 12, 2026
Private funds reported
5 (5 venture capital funds)adviserinfo.sec.gov
Private fund gross assets
$1.8Badviserinfo.sec.govreported GAV of the funds, the adviser's own number; not fund size, not dry powder
Owners on Schedule A
Venbio Partners, L.P. (Owner), E; Venbio Partners Management Holdings GP, LLC (General Partner), F
business phone
(415) 800-0800adviserinfo.sec.govpublished by the subject
Stated thesis versus observed behaviour
2 observed deals
Stated (the firm’s website)
Sectors
biotech, industrial
Stages
not stated or not yet read
Geography
seattle
Check size
not stated; DFX does not estimate checks from round sizes
Self-described
venture capital
Observed (from deals on record)
Stage at participation: no observed deals yet
Stage at first entry: no observed deals yet
Sectors
Biotechnology 100%
lead rate n/afollow-on rate n/anew logos, 12 months 1
Funds and vehicles
3 reported
VehicleTypeVintageLifecycleReported GAVOwnersForm D soldLatest Form D
venBio Global Strategic Fund V, L.P.Fund2024 form d first saleEarly deploymentunknownunknown$505MJul 12, 2024
Venbio Global Strategic Fund IV, L.P.Fund2021 form d first saleMature$550M
Mar 13, 2024
147$550M
of $550M
May 14, 2021
Venbio Global Strategic Fund III, LPFund2018 form d first saleHarvest$393M
Mar 13, 2024
103$386M
of $386M
Mar 26, 2020
GAV is the gross asset value the adviser reported on Form ADV for the vehicle, never the fund’s committed size and never dry powder. Form D sold is the amount sold as of the latest filing, never a final close.
Investment team
14 current, 0 departed
Robert Adelman
Co-founder and Emeritus Managing Partner
Managing partner
Investments on record
2 edges, 2 companies, 2 partner-attributed
CompanyRoundRolePartnerRound sizeThis investorDateSource
Caldera Therapeutics, Inc.board seatunknown · boardAaron Royston (strongly supported)unknownunknownJan 21, 2026Inference SEC EDGAR Form D data sets (quarterly)
Marea Therapeutics, Inc.board seatunknown · boardAaron Royston (strongly supported)unknownunknownJun 24, 2024Inference SEC EDGAR Form D data sets (quarterly)
“This investor” is the amount disclosed for this investor alone; it is unknown unless a source said it. The round size is the whole round.
Co-investors
0 relationships from shared deals, counted for the whole firm
No co-investor relationship yet: these are derived only from rounds and portfolio listings the graph has seen both investors on.
Limited partners
0 disclosed
No LP commitment on record. An LP edge needs a public disclosure with a quote: a pension report (see Limited partners for the plans read), a fund announcement naming the LP, or a Form ADV owner. The fund page carries the LP’s reported performance.
Timeline
8 dated events
  1. Mar 24, 2022
    Venbio Global Strategic Fund IV, L.P. first reported on Form ADV by Venbio Partners LLC (Venture Capital Fund), GAV $549,936,000
  2. Aug 1, 2021
    Antoinette Delhonte joined Schedule A of Venbio Partners LLC as Chief Financial Officer
  3. Apr 1, 2020
    Richard Samuel Gaster joined Schedule A of Venbio Partners LLC as Director
  4. Apr 1, 2019
    Aaron Royston joined Schedule A of Venbio Partners LLC as Limited Partner
  5. Mar 26, 2019
    Venbio Global Strategic Fund III, LP first reported on Form ADV by Venbio Partners LLC (Venture Capital Fund), GAV $119,191,919
  6. Sep 28, 2017
    Venbio Partners LLC first filed Form ADV (ERA, venture capital fund adviser exemption)
  7. Sep 28, 2017
    Venbio Global Strategic Fund II, L.P. first reported on Form ADV by Venbio Partners LLC (Venture Capital Fund), GAV $340,404,040
  8. Sep 28, 2017
    Venbio Global Strategic Fund, L.P. first reported on Form ADV by Venbio Partners LLC (Venture Capital Fund), GAV $178,787,879
Classification history
  1. Sep 12, 2026
    Institutional venture firm (confirmed, 95%, cls-1)
    venture manager, reported GAV $943M across 3 vehicles
  2. Sep 12, 2026
    Institutional venture firm (confirmed, 95%, cls-1)
    venture manager, reported GAV $943M across 2 vehicles
Evidence
49 observations from 3 sources
Every observation behind this profile, with its source, date and class
FactValueEffectiveClassSource
Why admittedvc_exemption,vc_funds_reportedMar 12, 2026FactSEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers)
SEC exemption claimedventure_capital_fund_adviserMar 12, 2026FactSEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers)
SEC exemption claimedventure_capital_fund_adviserMar 13, 2024FactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
SEC adviser typeexempt_reporting_adviserMar 12, 2026FactSEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers)
SEC adviser typeexempt_reporting_adviserMar 13, 2024FactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
First Form ADV filing2017-09-28Mar 13, 2024FactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
Adv history loadedadv-hist-1Sep 12, 2026FactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
Latest Form ADV filing2026-03-12Mar 12, 2026FactSEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers)
Latest Form ADV filing2024-03-13Mar 13, 2024FactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
SEC statusERA - ActiveMar 12, 2026FactSEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers)
SEC status effective2017-09-28Mar 12, 2026FactSEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers)
Venture share of reported funds1Mar 13, 2024FactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
Business phone(415) 800-0800Mar 12, 2026FactSEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers)
Business phone(415) 800-0800Mar 13, 2024FactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
Contact page urlhttps://www.venbio.com/contact/
contact page linked from the home page
Sep 16, 2026FactVenture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages)
HeadquartersSan Francisco, CAMar 12, 2026FactSEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers)
HeadquartersSan Francisco, CAMar 13, 2024FactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
Office address1700 OWENS STREET, SUITE 595, San Francisco, CA, 94158-0008Mar 12, 2026FactSEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers)
Office address1700 OWENS STREET, SUITE 595, San Francisco, CA, 94158-0008Mar 13, 2024FactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
Self-described typeventure_capital
Venture capital for
Sep 16, 2026FactVenture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages)
Self-described typeventure_capital
Venture capital for
Sep 12, 2026FactVenture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages)
Legal formLimited Liability CompanyMar 12, 2026FactSEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers)
Legal formLimited Liability CompanyMar 13, 2024FactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
Portfolio pagehttps://www.venbio.com/portfolio/
0 entries read
Sep 16, 2026FactVenture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages)
Portfolio pagehttps://www.venbio.com/portfolio/
0 entries read
Sep 12, 2026FactVenture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages)
Private funds reported5Mar 12, 2026FactSEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers)
Private funds reported4Mar 13, 2024FactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
Private fund gross assets (reported)$1.8BMar 12, 2026FactSEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers)
Private fund gross assets (reported)$1.5BMar 13, 2024FactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
Stated geographyseattle
geography words on the home page
Sep 16, 2026FactVenture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages)
Stated geographyseattle
geography words on the home page
Sep 12, 2026FactVenture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages)
Stated sectorsbiotech,industrial
sector words on the home page
Sep 16, 2026FactVenture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages)
Stated sectorsbiotech,industrial
sector words on the home page
Sep 12, 2026FactVenture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages)
Team pagehttps://www.venbio.com/team/
8 name/title pairs read
Sep 16, 2026FactVenture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages)
Team pagehttps://www.venbio.com/team/
5 name/title pairs read
Sep 12, 2026FactVenture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages)
Venture funds reported5Mar 12, 2026FactSEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers)
Venture funds reported4Mar 13, 2024FactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
WebsiteHTTP://WWW.VENBIO.COMMar 12, 2026FactSEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers)
WebsiteHTTP://WWW.VENBIO.COMMar 13, 2024FactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
Site titlevenBio
title tag
Sep 16, 2026FactVenture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages)
Site titlevenBio
title tag
Sep 12, 2026FactVenture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages)