DFX Intelligence
Venture Capital Intelligence
Firms, funds, partners, companies and rounds from sworn filings, firm sites and announcements, kept as a graph with a date and a source on every edge. Facts, inferences and estimates are labelled as such. A fund target is never a close, GAV is never dry powder, and a round size is never an investor’s check.
Firms / Cleveland Avenue Advisers, LLC
Cleveland Avenue Advisers, LLC
Cleveland Avenue helps to unlock the value of our investments by developing strong business leaders and leveraging our vast organizational capabilities to support growth and change. We’re more than a passive investor. We help our portfolio companies build the future by investing in people and ideas that bring true world changing value to the lives of consumers.
venture manager, reported GAV $765M across 5 vehicles
Importance
26
moderate
Active deployment
0
low
Emerging
0
low
Completeness
50
elevated
Freshness
100
high
Research priority
7
low
Identity and regulatory footprint
- Headquarters
- Chicago, ILadviserinfo.sec.gov
- Office address
- 222 N. CANAL STREET, Chicago, IL, 60606adviserinfo.sec.gov
- Business phone
- 312-383-6700adviserinfo.sec.gov
- SEC adviser type
- exempt reporting adviseradviserinfo.sec.gov
- SEC exemption claimed
- venture capital fund adviseradviserinfo.sec.govItem 2.B(1): advises solely venture capital funds
- Latest Form ADV
- Mar 31, 2026
- Private funds reported
- 7 (7 venture capital funds)adviserinfo.sec.gov
- Private fund gross assets
- $1.4Badviserinfo.sec.govreported GAV of the funds, the adviser's own number; not fund size, not dry powder
- Owners on Schedule A
- Cleveland Avenue LLC (Member), E
- business phone
- 312-383-6700adviserinfo.sec.govpublished by the subject
Stated thesis versus observed behaviour
no observed deals yet
Stated (the firm’s website)
- Sectors
- ai, consumer, marketplaces, climate, hardware, robotics, agtech, media
- Stages
- not stated or not yet read
- Geography
- chicago, colorado, global, indiana, maryland, michigan, minnesota, new york
- Check size
- not stated; DFX does not estimate checks from round sizes
- Self-described
- venture capital
Observed (from deals on record)
Stage at participation: no observed deals yet
Stage at first entry: no observed deals yet
Sectors: no observed deals yet
lead rate n/afollow-on rate n/anew logos, 12 months 0
Funds and vehicles
5 reported
| Vehicle | Type | Vintage | Lifecycle | Reported GAV | Owners | Form D sold | Latest Form D |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cleveland Avenue State Treasurer's Urban Success Fund, LP | Fund | 2020 form d first sale | Mature | $67.4M Mar 30, 2024 | 12 | $73.0M of $73.0M | Mar 11, 2021 |
| Cleveland Avenue Food and Beverage Fund II, LP | Fund | unknown | Unknown | $442M Mar 30, 2024 | 10 | $0 of $500M | Oct 9, 2020 |
| CA Tech Fund I, LP | Fund | unknown | Unknown | $180M Mar 30, 2024 | 2 | $0 of $250M | Jan 13, 2022 |
| Cleveland Avenue Food and Beverage Fund I, LP | Fund | unknown | Unknown | $60.3M Mar 30, 2024 | 2 | unknown | unknown |
| Cleveland Avenue Food and Beverage Partners Fund I, LP | Fund | unknown | Unknown | $15.5M Mar 30, 2024 | 11 | unknown | unknown |
GAV is the gross asset value the adviser reported on Form ADV for the vehicle, never the fund’s committed size and never dry powder. Form D sold is the amount sold as of the latest filing, never a final close.
Investment team
1 current, 0 departed
Donald Thompson
Founder or executiveChief Executive Officer · since Feb 1, 2015
Investments on record
0 edges, 0 companies, 0 partner-attributed
No investment on record yet. Edges arrive from the firm’s portfolio page, financing announcements, and Form D board seats.
Co-investors
0 relationships from shared deals, counted for the whole firm
No co-investor relationship yet: these are derived only from rounds and portfolio listings the graph has seen both investors on.
Limited partners
0 disclosed
No LP commitment on record. An LP edge needs a public disclosure with a quote: a pension report (see Limited partners for the plans read), a fund announcement naming the LP, or a Form ADV owner. The fund page carries the LP’s reported performance.
Timeline
6 dated events
- May 26, 2022Cleveland Avenue Advisers, LLC first filed Form ADV (ERA, venture capital fund adviser exemption)First SEC adviser filingOrganizationFactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- May 26, 2022Cleveland Avenue Food and Beverage Fund II, LP first reported on Form ADV by Cleveland Avenue Advisers, LLC (Venture Capital Fund), GAV $532,883,750Fund first reported on Form ADVFundsFactCleveland Avenue Food and Beverage Fund II, LPSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- May 26, 2022Cleveland Avenue State Treasurer's Urban Success Fund, LP first reported on Form ADV by Cleveland Avenue Advisers, LLC (Venture Capital Fund), GAV $68,003,050Fund first reported on Form ADVFundsFactCleveland Avenue State Treasurer's Urban Success Fund, LPSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- May 26, 2022Cleveland Avenue Food and Beverage Fund I, LP first reported on Form ADV by Cleveland Avenue Advisers, LLC (Venture Capital Fund), GAV $53,095,976Fund first reported on Form ADVFundsFactCleveland Avenue Food and Beverage Fund I, LPSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- May 26, 2022CA Tech Fund I, LP first reported on Form ADV by Cleveland Avenue Advisers, LLC (Venture Capital Fund), GAV $237,607,116Fund first reported on Form ADVFundsFactCA Tech Fund I, LPSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- May 26, 2022Cleveland Avenue Food and Beverage Partners Fund I, LP first reported on Form ADV by Cleveland Avenue Advisers, LLC (Venture Capital Fund), GAV $13,795,302Fund first reported on Form ADVFundsFactCleveland Avenue Food and Beverage Partners Fund I, LPSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
Classification history
- Sep 12, 2026Institutional venture firm (confirmed, 95%, cls-1)venture manager, reported GAV $765M across 5 vehicles
Evidence
42 observations from 3 sources
Every observation behind this profile, with its source, date and class
| Fact | Value | Effective | Class | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Why admitted | vc_exemption,vc_funds_reported | Mar 31, 2026 | Fact | SEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers) |
| SEC exemption claimed | venture_capital_fund_adviser | Mar 31, 2026 | Fact | SEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers) |
| SEC exemption claimed | venture_capital_fund_adviser | Mar 30, 2024 | Fact | SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B) |
| SEC adviser type | exempt_reporting_adviser | Mar 31, 2026 | Fact | SEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers) |
| SEC adviser type | exempt_reporting_adviser | Mar 30, 2024 | Fact | SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B) |
| First Form ADV filing | 2022-05-26 | Mar 30, 2024 | Fact | SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B) |
| Adv history loaded | adv-hist-1 | Sep 12, 2026 | Fact | SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B) |
| Latest Form ADV filing | 2026-03-31 | Mar 31, 2026 | Fact | SEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers) |
| Latest Form ADV filing | 2024-03-30 | Mar 30, 2024 | Fact | SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B) |
| SEC status | ERA - Active | Mar 31, 2026 | Fact | SEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers) |
| SEC status effective | 2022-05-26 | Mar 31, 2026 | Fact | SEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers) |
| Venture share of reported funds | 1 | Mar 30, 2024 | Fact | SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B) |
| Business phone | 312-383-6700 | Mar 31, 2026 | Fact | SEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers) |
| Business phone | 312-383-6700 | Mar 30, 2024 | Fact | SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B) |
| Description | Cleveland Avenue helps to unlock the value of our investments by developing strong business leaders and leveraging our vast organizational capabilities to support growth and change. We’re more than a passive investor. We help our portfolio companies build the future by investing in people and ideas that bring true world changing value to the lives of consumers. “meta description” | Sep 16, 2026 | Fact | Venture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages) |
| Description | Cleveland Avenue helps to unlock the value of our investments by developing strong business leaders and leveraging our vast organizational capabilities to support growth and change. We’re more than a passive investor. We help our portfolio companies build the future by investing in people and ideas that bring true world changing value to the lives of consumers. “meta description” | Sep 14, 2026 | Fact | Venture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages) |
| Headquarters | Chicago, IL | Mar 31, 2026 | Fact | SEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers) |
| Headquarters | Chicago, IL | Mar 30, 2024 | Fact | SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B) |
| Office address | 222 N. CANAL STREET, Chicago, IL, 60606 | Mar 31, 2026 | Fact | SEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers) |
| Office address | 222 N. CANAL STREET, Chicago, IL, 60606 | Mar 30, 2024 | Fact | SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B) |
| Self-described type | venture_capital “Cleveland Avenue is a global venture capital firm that invests in lifestyle consumer brands and technology companies that positively disrupt large and growing markets.” | Sep 16, 2026 | Fact | Venture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages) |
| Self-described type | venture_capital “Cleveland Avenue is a global venture capital firm that invests in lifestyle consumer brands and technology companies that positively disrupt large and growing markets.” | Sep 14, 2026 | Fact | Venture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages) |
| Legal form | Limited Liability Company | Mar 31, 2026 | Fact | SEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers) |
| Legal form | Limited Liability Company | Mar 30, 2024 | Fact | SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B) |
| Portfolio page | https://www.clevelandavenue.com/portfolio “0 entries read” | Sep 16, 2026 | Fact | Venture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages) |
| Portfolio page | https://www.clevelandavenue.com/portfolio “0 entries read” | Sep 14, 2026 | Fact | Venture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages) |
| Private funds reported | 7 | Mar 31, 2026 | Fact | SEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers) |
| Private funds reported | 5 | Mar 30, 2024 | Fact | SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B) |
| Private fund gross assets (reported) | $1.4B | Mar 31, 2026 | Fact | SEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers) |
| Private fund gross assets (reported) | $765M | Mar 30, 2024 | Fact | SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B) |
| Stated geography | chicago,colorado,global,indiana,maryland,michigan,minnesota,new york “geography words on the home page” | Sep 16, 2026 | Fact | Venture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages) |
| Stated geography | chicago,colorado,global,indiana,maryland,michigan,minnesota,new york “geography words on the home page” | Sep 14, 2026 | Fact | Venture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages) |
| Stated sectors | ai,consumer,marketplaces,climate,hardware,robotics,agtech,media “sector words on the home page” | Sep 16, 2026 | Fact | Venture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages) |
| Stated sectors | ai,consumer,marketplaces,climate,hardware,robotics,agtech,media “sector words on the home page” | Sep 14, 2026 | Fact | Venture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages) |
| Venture funds reported | 7 | Mar 31, 2026 | Fact | SEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers) |
| Venture funds reported | 5 | Mar 30, 2024 | Fact | SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B) |
| Website | https://www.clevelandavenue.com | Mar 30, 2024 | Fact | SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B) |
| Site title | Cleveland Avenue “title tag” | Sep 16, 2026 | Fact | Venture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages) |
| Site title | Cleveland Avenue “title tag” | Sep 14, 2026 | Fact | Venture organization websites (about, team, portfolio, thesis, news pages) |