DFX Intelligence
Venture Capital Intelligence
Firms, funds, partners, companies and rounds from sworn filings, firm sites and announcements, kept as a graph with a date and a source on every edge. Facts, inferences and estimates are labelled as such. A fund target is never a close, GAV is never dry powder, and a round size is never an investor’s check.
Firms / NC III, L.L.C.
NC III, L.L.C.
Private equity with venture activity · probableDanville, CAnorthgate.comSEC registered investment adviserpart of Northgate
One of 2 advisers that share northgate.com; the firm is Northgate. Northgate Capital, LLC. Each keeps its own CRD, funds and filings; the grouping is the website each swore to on Form ADV and is recomputed every pass.
registered adviser; venture funds are 41% of 39 private funds
Importance
44
elevated
Active deployment
0
low
Emerging
0
low
Completeness
44
elevated
Freshness
98
high
Research priority
13
low
Identity and regulatory footprint
- Headquarters
- Danville, CAadviserinfo.sec.gov
- Office address
- 649 SAN RAMON VALLEY BLVD, Danville, CA, 94526adviserinfo.sec.gov
- Business phone
- 925-820-9970adviserinfo.sec.gov
- Website
- WWW.NORTHGATE.COM
- SEC adviser type
- registered investment adviseradviserinfo.sec.gov
- SEC exemption claimed
- unknown
- Latest Form ADV
- Dec 8, 2014
- Private funds reported
- 39 (16 venture capital funds)adviserinfo.sec.gov
- Private fund gross assets
- $3.6Badviserinfo.sec.govreported GAV of the funds, the adviser's own number; not fund size, not dry powder
- Regulatory AUM
- $2.4Bthe adviser's RAUM, a regulatory measure, never a fund size
- Employees
- 36
- business phone
- 925-820-9970adviserinfo.sec.govpublished by the subject
Stated thesis versus observed behaviour
no observed deals yet
Stated (the firm’s website)
- Sectors
- not stated or not yet read
- Stages
- not stated or not yet read
- Geography
- not stated
- Check size
- not stated; DFX does not estimate checks from round sizes
Observed (from deals on record)
Stage at participation: no observed deals yet
Stage at first entry: no observed deals yet
Sectors: no observed deals yet
lead rate n/afollow-on rate n/anew logos, 12 months 0
Funds and vehicles
13 reported
| Vehicle | Type | Vintage | Lifecycle | Reported GAV | Owners | Form D sold | Latest Form D |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCD Investors, a Delaware Multiple Series LLC | Fund | unknown | Unknown | $377M Dec 8, 2014 | 54 | unknown | unknown |
| Northgate Venture Partners III, L.P. | Fund | unknown | Unknown | $191M Dec 8, 2014 | 67 | unknown | unknown |
| NCD Partners V, L.P. | Fund | unknown | Unknown | $151M Dec 8, 2014 | 72 | unknown | unknown |
| Northgate Venture Partners II, L.P. | Fund | unknown | Unknown | $106M Dec 8, 2014 | 76 | unknown | unknown |
| NCD Partners VI, L.P. | Fund | unknown | Unknown | $57.6M Dec 8, 2014 | 40 | $0 | Mar 17, 2009 |
| Northgate Venture Partners III (q), L.P. | Fund | unknown | Unknown | $39.9M Dec 8, 2014 | 60 | unknown | unknown |
| NCD Partners IV, L.P. | Fund | unknown | Unknown | $39.5M Dec 8, 2014 | 44 | unknown | unknown |
| Northgate Partners, a Delaware Multiple Series LLC | Fund | unknown | Unknown | $38.3M Dec 8, 2014 | 144 | unknown | unknown |
| Northgate Venture Partners II (q), L.P. | Fund | unknown | Unknown | $25.7M Dec 8, 2014 | 61 | unknown | unknown |
| NCD Partners, L.P. | Fund | unknown | Unknown | $7.7M Dec 8, 2014 | 4 | unknown | unknown |
| NCD Partners II, L.P. | Fund | unknown | Unknown | $6.1M Dec 8, 2014 | 2 | unknown | unknown |
| NCD Fintegra Opportunity Fund, L.P. | Opportunity fund | unknown | Unknown | $3.7M Dec 8, 2014 | 2 | $0 | Jun 25, 2010 |
| NCD Partners Iv-Annex, L.P. | Continuation vehicle | unknown | Unknown | $2.5M Dec 8, 2014 | 7 | unknown | unknown |
GAV is the gross asset value the adviser reported on Form ADV for the vehicle, never the fund’s committed size and never dry powder. Form D sold is the amount sold as of the latest filing, never a final close.
Investment team
7 current, 0 departed
Jared Walker Stone
Board or advisoryMember/Senior Advisor · since Jan 1, 2002
Mark Edward Harris
Board or advisoryMember/Senior Advisor · since Jun 1, 2000
Brent Michael Jones
PartnerMember · since Jun 1, 2000
Hosein Khajeh- Hosseiny
PartnerMember · since Oct 1, 2004
Thomas Arthur Vardell
PartnerMember · since Jun 1, 2000
Carol S. Christensen
Platform and operationsChief Compliance Officer · since Aug 1, 2011
Moez Virani
Platform and operationsChief Operating Officer/Chief Financial Officer · since Jun 1, 2011
Investments on record
0 edges, 0 companies, 0 partner-attributed
No investment on record yet. Edges arrive from the firm’s portfolio page, financing announcements, and Form D board seats.
Co-investors
0 relationships from shared deals, counted for the whole firm
No co-investor relationship yet: these are derived only from rounds and portfolio listings the graph has seen both investors on.
Limited partners
0 disclosed
No LP commitment on record. An LP edge needs a public disclosure with a quote: a pension report (see Limited partners for the plans read), a fund announcement naming the LP, or a Form ADV owner. The fund page carries the LP’s reported performance.
Timeline
1 dated events
- Nov 28, 2011NC III, L.L.C. first filed Form ADV (IA)First SEC adviser filingOrganizationFactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
Classification history
- Sep 12, 2026Private equity with venture activity (probable, 75%, cls-1)registered adviser; venture funds are 41% of 39 private funds
Evidence
26 observations from 1 source