DFX Intelligence
Venture Capital Intelligence
Firms, funds, partners, companies and rounds from sworn filings, firm sites and announcements, kept as a graph with a date and a source on every edge. Facts, inferences and estimates are labelled as such. A fund target is never a close, GAV is never dry powder, and a round size is never an investor’s check.
Firms / Cognition Capital, LLC
Cognition Capital, LLC
Investing in Category-Defining Private Companies Shaping the Future
seed vehicles only
Importance
9
low
Active deployment
29
moderate
Emerging
0
low
Completeness
50
elevated
Freshness
100
high
Research priority
9
low
Identity and regulatory footprint
- Headquarters
- unknown
- Office address
- unknown
- Business phone
- 770-262-7474adviserinfo.sec.gov
- Website
- https://cognitioncap.com/
- SEC adviser type
- exempt reporting adviseradviserinfo.sec.gov
- SEC exemption claimed
- private fund adviseradviserinfo.sec.gov
- Latest Form ADV
- Mar 31, 2026
- Private funds reported
- 7 (7 venture capital funds)adviserinfo.sec.gov
- Private fund gross assets
- $6.0Madviserinfo.sec.govreported GAV of the funds, the adviser's own number; not fund size, not dry powder
- business phone
- 770-262-7474adviserinfo.sec.govpublished by the subject
Stated thesis versus observed behaviour
1 observed deals
Stated (the firm’s website)
- Sectors
- ai, deep tech, hardware, robotics, space, quantum
- Stages
- not stated or not yet read
- Geography
- not stated
- Check size
- not stated; DFX does not estimate checks from round sizes
Observed (from deals on record)
Stage at participation: no observed deals yet
Stage at first entry: no observed deals yet
Sectors
unknown 100%
lead rate 0%follow-on rate 0%new logos, 12 months 1
Funds and vehicles
7 reported
| Vehicle | Type | Vintage | Lifecycle | Reported GAV | Owners | Form D sold | Latest Form D |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CC ANTH II a Series of CGF2021 LLC | SPV or co-invest vehicle | 2026 form d first sale | Newly closed | $713,333 Sep 12, 2026 | 24 | $713,333 of $713,333 | Feb 20, 2026 |
| CC CES I a Series of CGF2021 LLC | SPV or co-invest vehicle | 2026 form d first sale | Newly closed | $535,000 Sep 12, 2026 | 15 | $535,000 of $535,000 | Mar 10, 2026 |
| CC ANTH I a Series of CGF2021 LLC | SPV or co-invest vehicle | 2025 form d first sale | Newly closed | $1.7M Sep 12, 2026 | 37 | $1.7M of $1.7M | Nov 7, 2025 |
| CC SX IV a Series of CGF2021 LLC | SPV or co-invest vehicle | 2025 form d first sale | Newly closed | $1.3M Sep 12, 2026 | 28 | $1.3M of $1.3M | Jan 12, 2026 |
| Cognition Capital SPV I a Series of CGF2021 LLC | SPV or co-invest vehicle | 2025 form d first sale | Newly closed | $651,029 Sep 12, 2026 | 26 | $651,029 of $651,029 | Jun 11, 2025 |
| CC SX III a Series of CGF2021 LLC | SPV or co-invest vehicle | 2025 form d first sale | Newly closed | $615,000 Sep 12, 2026 | 22 | $615,000 of $615,000 | Dec 19, 2025 |
| Cognition Capital SPV III a Series of CGF2021 LLC | SPV or co-invest vehicle | 2025 form d first sale | Newly closed | $418,182 Sep 12, 2026 | 8 | $418,182 of $418,182 | Sep 26, 2025 |
GAV is the gross asset value the adviser reported on Form ADV for the vehicle, never the fund’s committed size and never dry powder. Form D sold is the amount sold as of the latest filing, never a final close.
Investment team
0 current, 0 departed
No named professional yet. People arrive from Form ADV Schedule A (owners, officers, control persons) and the team page.
Investments on record
1 edges, 1 companies, 0 partner-attributed
| Company | Round | Role | Partner | Round size | This investor | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aristotle | Funding round | participant | unknown | $5.0M | unknown | Sep 16, 2026 | Fact Press release wires (Business Wire, PR Newswire, GlobeNewswire public RSS) |
“This investor” is the amount disclosed for this investor alone; it is unknown unless a source said it. The round size is the whole round.
Co-investors
4 relationships from shared deals, counted for the whole firm
Limited partners
0 disclosed
No LP commitment on record. An LP edge needs a public disclosure with a quote: a pension report (see Limited partners for the plans read), a fund announcement naming the LP, or a Form ADV owner. The fund page carries the LP’s reported performance.
Timeline
2 dated events
- Sep 12, 2026Cognition Capital, LLC: INSTITUTIONAL_VC -> SEED_FUND_MANAGER (seed vehicles only)Classification changedClassificationInferenceno URL
- Mar 31, 2026Cognition Capital, LLC appears on the SEC adviser roster (ERA)First SEC adviser filingOrganizationFactSEC Form ADV monthly roster (registered + exempt reporting advisers)
Classification history
- Sep 13, 2026Seed fund manager (probable, 80%, cls-1)seed vehicles only
- Sep 12, 2026Institutional venture firm (probable, 70%, cls-1)venture manager with no reported fund assets yet (scale unknown)
Evidence
19 observations from 3 sources