DFX Intelligence
Venture Capital Intelligence
Firms, funds, partners, companies and rounds from sworn filings, firm sites and announcements, kept as a graph with a date and a source on every edge. Facts, inferences and estimates are labelled as such. A fund target is never a close, GAV is never dry powder, and a round size is never an investor’s check.
Firms / The Vertical Group, L.P.
The Vertical Group, L.P.
Our Approach
venture manager, reported GAV $19.0M across 1 vehicles
Importance
7
low
Active deployment
0
low
Emerging
0
low
Completeness
69
high
Freshness
100
high
Research priority
1
low
Identity and regulatory footprint
- Headquarters
- Berkeley Heights, NJadviserinfo.sec.gov
- Office address
- 186 SHERMAN AVENUE, Berkeley Heights, NJ, 07922adviserinfo.sec.gov
- Business phone
- 908-277-3737adviserinfo.sec.gov
- SEC adviser type
- exempt reporting adviseradviserinfo.sec.gov
- SEC exemption claimed
- unknown
- Latest Form ADV
- Feb 29, 2024
- Private funds reported
- 1 (1 venture capital funds)adviserinfo.sec.gov
- Private fund gross assets
- $19.0Madviserinfo.sec.govreported GAV of the funds, the adviser's own number; not fund size, not dry powder
- Owners on Schedule A
- The Vertical Group Gphc, LLC (General Partner), NA
- business phone
- 908-277-3737adviserinfo.sec.govpublished by the subject
Stated thesis versus observed behaviour
no observed deals yet
Stated (the firm’s website)
- Sectors
- biotech
- Stages
- early
- Geography
- not stated
- Check size
- not stated; DFX does not estimate checks from round sizes
- Self-described
- venture capital
Observed (from deals on record)
Stage at participation: no observed deals yet
Stage at first entry: no observed deals yet
Sectors: no observed deals yet
lead rate n/afollow-on rate n/anew logos, 12 months 0
Funds and vehicles
1 reported
| Vehicle | Type | Vintage | Lifecycle | Reported GAV | Owners | Form D sold | Latest Form D |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vertical Fund I, L.P. | Fund | 2014 adv first reported | Harvest | $19.0M Feb 29, 2024 | 105 | unknown | unknown |
GAV is the gross asset value the adviser reported on Form ADV for the vehicle, never the fund’s committed size and never dry powder. Form D sold is the amount sold as of the latest filing, never a final close.
Investment team
5 current, 0 departed
Jack William Lasersohn
PartnerLimited Partner · since Jan 1, 1995
John Edmunds Runnells
PartnerLimited Partner · since Jan 1, 1993
Richard Brooks Emmitt
PartnerLimited Partner · since Jan 1, 1995
Tony Mei-Thong Chou
PartnerLimited Partner · since Aug 1, 2006
Yue-Teh Jang
PartnerLimited Partner · since Nov 1, 2000
Investments on record
0 edges, 0 companies, 0 partner-attributed
No investment on record yet. Edges arrive from the firm’s portfolio page, financing announcements, and Form D board seats.
Co-investors
0 relationships from shared deals, counted for the whole firm
No co-investor relationship yet: these are derived only from rounds and portfolio listings the graph has seen both investors on.
Limited partners
0 disclosed
No LP commitment on record. An LP edge needs a public disclosure with a quote: a pension report (see Limited partners for the plans read), a fund announcement naming the LP, or a Form ADV owner. The fund page carries the LP’s reported performance.
Timeline
2 dated events
- Mar 28, 2014Vertical Fund I, L.P. first reported on Form ADV by The Vertical Group, L.P. (Venture Capital Fund), GAV $150,380,000Fund first reported on Form ADVFundsFactVertical Fund I, L.P.SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- Mar 29, 2012The Vertical Group, L.P. first filed Form ADV (ERA, venture capital fund adviser exemption)First SEC adviser filingOrganizationFactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
Classification history
- Sep 12, 2026Micro VC (probable, 80%, cls-1)venture manager, reported GAV $19.0M across 1 vehicles
Evidence
39 observations from 2 sources