Private Equity Intelligence
Firms, funds, people, portfolio companies and transactions from sworn filings and cited announcements, kept as a graph with a date and a source on every edge. Reported gross assets are never fund size, regulatory AUM is never dry powder, and a deal value prints only when someone disclosed it.
Knox Lane LP
Knox Lane is an investment firm focused on partnering with growth-oriented businesses in the services and consumer sectors.
- Class
- Buyout firmconfirmed, confidence 85%
- Basis
- R6: 17 of 17 distinct vehicles are sworn Private Equity Funds; 15 reported gross assets on a filing in 2022 or later
- Size band
- Middle marketdefined by: proxy: $2.54bn Private Equity Fund GAV on the Form ADV filed 2024-03-27
Classification history (1)
- Sep 13, 2026Buyout firm (confirmed, 85%, cls-pe-1)R6: 17 of 17 distinct vehicles are sworn Private Equity Funds; 15 reported gross assets on a filing in 2022 or later
- Adviser type
- registered investment adviser
- Form ADV filings
- Jan 17, 2020 to Mar 27, 2024
- RAUM
- $2.5Bregulatory assets under management of the adviser; not dry powder, not a fund size
- PE funds, latest filing
- 17
- PE fund GAV, latest filing
- $2.5Breported gross assets (Form ADV), not fund size
- All private fund GAV
- $2.5Bevery private fund type, latest filing
- 2024 PE fund GAV
- $2.5Bsum over funds typed Private Equity Fund with a 2024 or later as-of date
- PE share of funds, lifetime
- 100%
- Fund type mix
- filed 2024-03-27, latest gav Private Equity Fund $2.5B, latest counts Private Equity Fund 17, lifetime distinct Private Equity Fund 17
- Employees
- 21
- Headquarters
- San Francisco, CA
- Office address
- 655 MONTGOMERY STREET, SUITE 1905, San Francisco, CA, 94111-2634
- Business phone
- (415) 651-2279
- Sectors
- consumer
- Geography
- not stated or not yet read
- Revenue
- not stated or not yet read
- EBITDA
- not stated or not yet read
- Enterprise value
- not stated or not yet read
- Equity check
- not stated or not yet read
- Control
- not stated or not yet read
- Thesis
- We take a bespoke approach to every business in which we invest, grounded in our proven practices and decades of experience as both investors and operators.
- roles
- add on 7, unknown 4, platform 7
- period
- to 2026-07-28, from 2024-05-03, undated holdings 13, dated observations 11
- window
- last 2026-07-28, first 2024-05-03
- control
- control 12, unknown 6
- companies
- 18
- geography
- count 1, share 0.056, value MD, count 1, share 0.056, value CA
- investments
- 18
- seller kinds
- family 1, founder 1
- transactions
- 21
- cadence by year
- 2024 other deals 1, 2025 add ons 1, 2026 add ons 2, platforms 2
- platform add on
- add ons 7, platforms 7, add ons per platform 1
- sector known for
- 12
- disclosed value usd
- n 0
- sector distribution
- count 6, share 0.333, value business services, examples Cross Country Locums, Integrity Locums, CrowdPharm, Cross Country Healthcare, Inc., count 2, share 0.111, value industrial manufacturing, examples Boomerang Labs, Elevation Labs, count 2, share 0.111, value life sciences, examples Return, Spectrum Science, count 1, share 0.056, value industrial services, examples Guardian Fire Protection Services, count 1, share 0.056, value consumer services, examples HighGround Restoration Group, Inc.
- holding period years
- n 0
- repeat counterparties
- role legal adviser, shared 10, entity id a4c8f9dc-f5c0-44a6-8477-21e5f1338f16, role sell side adviser, shared 4, entity id aaa781d6-40dd-44e0-bfff-1e4ee9b220f9, role buy side adviser, shared 3, entity id 1d2ae181-f3ae-4081-902f-76a84805ef3b, role buy side adviser, shared 3, entity id 51e44f8c-ba6b-4da8-9dad-d96a59aa0113, role buy side adviser, shared 2, entity id 17831664-2500-4237-b7e8-4bf1b868f7af, role buy side adviser, shared 2, entity id 5eb37c79-2b76-44ca-b149-eeeb234f2dec, role legal adviser, shared 2, entity id 4cdae67a-80cc-48c7-a998-27fe08dc42fd
- subsector distribution
- count 4, share 0.222, value staffing, examples Cross Country Locums, Integrity Locums, Cross Country Healthcare, Inc., All Star Healthcare Solutions, count 2, share 0.111, value miscellaneous manufacturing, examples Boomerang Labs, Elevation Labs, count 2, share 0.111, value life sciences, examples Return, Spectrum Science, count 2, share 0.111, value advertising marketing, examples CrowdPharm, Fingerpaint, count 1, share 0.056, value security fire life safety systems, examples Guardian Fire Protection Services, count 1, share 0.056, value carpet cleaning restoration, examples HighGround Restoration Group, Inc.
18 companies on the graph (21 transactions); most in business services (6); 7 platforms and 7 add-ons; observed 2024 to 2026
| Fund | Vehicle | Vintage | Reported gross assets (Form ADV), not fund size | GAV by year | Form D sold | Lifecycle |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KLC Fund Ii-A LP ADV: Private Equity Fund | Feeder or parallel | 2024 first reported on Form ADV | $362M as of Mar 27, 2024 | no Form D | Unknown | |
| KLC Fund II LP ADV: Private Equity Fund | buyout or unlabelled | 2024 first reported on Form ADV | $357M as of Mar 27, 2024 | no Form D | Unknown | |
| KLC Fund 1222 Ci LP ADV: Private Equity Fund | buyout or unlabelled | 2024 first reported on Form ADV | $87.9M as of Mar 27, 2024 | no Form D | Unknown | |
| KLC Fund 0124-Ci LP ADV: Private Equity Fund | buyout or unlabelled | 2024 first reported on Form ADV | $2.0M as of Mar 27, 2024 | no Form D | Unknown | |
| KLC Ff Fund II LP ADV: Private Equity Fund | buyout or unlabelled | 2024 first reported on Form ADV | $0 as of Mar 27, 2024 | no Form D | Unknown | |
| KLC Fund 0124-Ci a LP ADV: Private Equity Fund | buyout or unlabelled | 2024 first reported on Form ADV | $0 as of Mar 27, 2024 | no Form D | Unknown | |
| KLC Fund 1-C1 LP ADV: Private Equity Fund | buyout or unlabelled | 2023 first reported on Form ADV | $175M as of Mar 27, 2024 | no Form D | Early deployment | |
| KLC Fund 1022-Ci LP ADV: Private Equity Fund | buyout or unlabelled | 2023 first reported on Form ADV | $87.9M as of Mar 27, 2024 | no Form D | Early deployment | |
| KLC Fund 1022-Ci-A LP ADV: Private Equity Fund | Feeder or parallel | 2023 first reported on Form ADV | $49.4M as of Mar 27, 2024 | no Form D | Early deployment | |
| KL Pattern Co-Invest LP ADV: Private Equity Fund | Co-investment vehicle | 2022 first reported on Form ADV | $164M as of Mar 27, 2024 | no Form D | Early deployment | |
| KL Stockton Co-Invest LP ADV: Private Equity Fund | Co-investment vehicle | 2022 first reported on Form ADV | $97.3M as of Mar 27, 2024 | no Form D | Early deployment | |
| KL Stockton Co-Invest a LP ADV: Private Equity Fund | Co-investment vehicle | 2022 first reported on Form ADV | $89.2M as of Mar 27, 2024 | no Form D | Early deployment | |
| KL Pattern Co-Invest Partners LP ADV: Private Equity Fund | Co-investment vehicle | 2022 first reported on Form ADV | $41.8M as of Mar 27, 2024 | no Form D | Early deployment | |
| KLC Ff Fund I LP ADV: Private Equity Fund | buyout or unlabelled | 2022 first reported on Form ADV | $35.4M as of Mar 27, 2024 | no Form D | Early deployment | |
| KL Charlie Co-Invest, L.P. ADV: Private Equity Fund | Co-investment vehicle | 2021 first reported on Form ADV | $148M as of Mar 27, 2024 | no Form D | Unknown | |
| KLC Fund I-A LP ADV: Private Equity Fund | Feeder or parallel | 2020 first reported on Form ADV | $508M as of Mar 27, 2024 | no Form D | Active deployment | |
| KLC Fund I LP ADV: Private Equity Fund | buyout or unlabelled | 2020 first reported on Form ADV | $333M as of Mar 27, 2024 | no Form D | Active deployment | |
| Knox Lane Second Fund | buyout or unlabelled | unknown | unknown | no reporting | no Form D | Unknown |
| Knox Lane KLC Fund I | buyout or unlabelled | unknown | unknown | no reporting | no Form D | Unknown |
- Ann Fandozzi · CEO, Ritchie Brothers (NYSE: RBA) · start date unknown Investment organization websites (team, portfolio, strategy, criteria, news)
- John Bailey · Managing Partner · start date unknown Press release wires (PR Newswire, GlobeNewswire, Business Wire public pages and RSS)
- John Bailey · Managing Partner · start date unknown SEC EDGAR full-text search (8-K, 10-K, S-1, SC TO, DEFM14A, 425 texts)
- John Preston Bailey · Managing Member · since Aug 1, 2019 SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B, 1.I websites)
- Malcolm Frank · Former President, Cognizant – Digital Business and Technology Services · start date unknown Investment organization websites (team, portfolio, strategy, criteria, news)
- Tarang Amin · CEO, e.l.f. Beauty (NYSE: ELF) · start date unknown Investment organization websites (team, portfolio, strategy, criteria, news)
- Brent Gunderson · Managing Director · start date unknown Press release wires (PR Newswire, GlobeNewswire, Business Wire public pages and RSS)
- David Coghlan · Managing Director · start date unknown Press release wires (PR Newswire, GlobeNewswire, Business Wire public pages and RSS)
- Shamik Patel · Partner · start date unknown Press release wires (PR Newswire, GlobeNewswire, Business Wire public pages and RSS)
- Shamik R Patel · Partner And Limited Partner · since Feb 1, 2020 SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B, 1.I websites)
- David Coghlan · Principal · start date unknown Press release wires (PR Newswire, GlobeNewswire, Business Wire public pages and RSS)
- Ivor van Esch · Chief Compliance Officer & Chief Financial Officer · since Mar 1, 2022 SEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B, 1.I websites)
- Marvin Davis · Former Chief Marketing Officer and Chief Strategy Officer, ServiceMaster · start date unknown Investment organization websites (team, portfolio, strategy, criteria, news)
- Maureen Watson · Chief Product Officer, Madison Reed · start date unknown Investment organization websites (team, portfolio, strategy, criteria, news)
- Russ Hagey · Senior Partner & Worldwide Chief Talent Officer/Chief Leadership Officer, Bain & Co. · start date unknown Investment organization websites (team, portfolio, strategy, criteria, news)
- Credit Suisse Securities (USA) LLC 2 shared · recurring · last Jan 1, 2020
- MidCap Financial 1 shared · one time
- Houlihan Lokey 4 shared · strong · last May 3, 2024
- Bofa Securities, Inc. 4 shared · strong · last Jul 21, 2026
- William Blair 3 shared · strong
- MTS Health Partners, L.P. 3 shared · strong · last Jul 21, 2026
- Jefferies LLC 2 shared · recurring
- Harris Williams 2 shared · recurring
- Robert W. Baird & Co. Incorporated 1 shared · one time
- Raymond James Ltd. 1 shared · one time
- SF&P Advisors 1 shared · one time
- William Blair & Company, L.L.C. 1 shared · one time
- BrightTower 1 shared · one time
- Stifel 1 shared · one time
- Lazard 1 shared · one time
- Baird 1 shared · one time
- Goldman Sachs 1 shared · one time
- Kirkland & Ellis LLP 10 shared · very strong · last May 3, 2024
- Alston & Bird 2 shared · recurring
- Benesch, Friedlander, Coplan & Aronoff LLP 1 shared · one time
- Akerman 1 shared · one time
- Shulman Rogers LLP 1 shared · one time
- Ice Miller 1 shared · one time
- Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP 1 shared · one time
- Greenberg Taurig 1 shared · one time
- McGuire Woods LLP 1 shared · one time · last May 3, 2024
- Jones Day 1 shared · one time
- New York State Common Retirement Fund in KLC Fund I LP $25.5M osc.ny.gov
- New York State Common Retirement Fund in KLC Fund II LP $25.3M osc.ny.gov
- Massachusetts Pension Reserves Investment Management Board amount not disclosed mapension.com
- Los Angeles City Employees' Retirement System in KLC Fund II LP amount not disclosed lacers.org
- Los Angeles City Employees' Retirement System in KLC Fund II LP $20.0M lacers.org
- Sep 17, 2026Pattern Announces Pricing of Initial Public Offering September—2025 · Invest
- Sep 17, 2026Knox Lane-Backed Any Hour Group Extends Market Leadership in California and Minnesota June—2024 · Invest
- Sep 17, 2026Knox Lane-Backed Any Hour Group Extends Market Leadership in Utah and Nevada July—2023 · Invest
- Sep 17, 2026Knox Lane-Backed Any Hour Group Grows Home Services Leadership in Western U.S. With Seven New Partnerships January—2023 · Invest
- Sep 17, 2026Knox Lane to Partner with Ruppert Landscape December—2022 · Invest
- Sep 17, 2026Knox Lane-Backed Any Hour Group Grows Home Services Leadership in Mountain West With Four New Partnerships September—2022 · Invest
- Sep 17, 2026Knox Lane-Backed Any Hour Group Grows Home Services Leadership in Mountain West With Three New Partnerships July—2022 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Knox Lane Partners with SAGE Integration September—2026 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Knox Lane Partners with Guardian Fire Protection Services January—2024 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026All Star Healthcare Solutions Acquires Cross Country Healthcare's Locums Division July—2026 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Knox Lane Completes Acquisition of Cross Country Healthcare July—2026 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Cross Country Healthcare to be Acquired by Knox Lane in All-Cash Transaction Valued at $437 Million May—2026 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Spectrum Science Acquires Return on Focus, Expanding Strategic Capabilities to Drive Brand Success through Proprietary, Evidence-Based Approach to Positioning September—2025 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026All Star Healthcare Solutions Announces Acquisition of Integrity Locums May—2025 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Fingerpaint Group Boosts Market Access Capabilities with Acquisition of BlackPoint Consulting Group April—2025 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Knox Lane Partners with HCEsquared March—2025 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Knox Lane Partners with HighGround Restoration Group March—2025 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Ruppert Landscape Expands Presence in South Carolina Market with Acquisition of Ocean Woods Landscaping, Inc. January—2025 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Ruppert Expands Presence in Florida Market with Acquisition of Lawnscapes, Inc. January—2025 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Knox Lane Closes Oversubscribed Second Fund at $1 Billion Hard Cap July—2024 ·
- Sep 15, 2026Guardian Fire Protection Services Acquires Harris Fire Protection, Further Expanding Presence Throughout Mid-Atlantic Region June—2024 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Knox Lane Partners with All Star Healthcare Solutions May—2024 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Elevation Labs Announces Strategic Investment in Boomerang Labs April—2024 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Spectrum Science Acquires Continuum Clinical, Amplifying Patient Recruitment Capabilities February—2024 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Ruppert Landscape Enters South Carolina Market with Acquisition of The Greenery of Charleston January—2024 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Ruppert Landscape Enters Florida Market with Acquisition of Tree Amigos Outdoor Services December—2023 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Spectrum Science Acquires CrowdPharm and Hot Iron Health, Strengthening Firm's Advertising and Consulting Capabilities November—2023 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Fingerpaint Group Acquires The MYND Group, Bolstering Its Robust Market Access Capabilities April—2023 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Fingerpaint Group Acquires PharmaHEALTHLabs, Growing Its Oncology and Biologics Capabilities March—2023 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Spectrum Science Receives Strategic Investment from Knox Lane to Fuel Continued Growth February—2023 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Fingerpaint Group Acquires Parsons Medical Communications September—2022 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Knox Lane-Backed Fingerpaint Acquires Emcay, Expanding Company's Multicultural Capabilities July—2022 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Knox Lane Announces Strategic Investment in Elevation Labs June—2022 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Knox Lane Closes Inaugural Fund at $610 Million March—2022 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026The Any Hour Group Partners with Three Leading Home Services Businesses January—2022 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Fingerpaint Acquires London-Based Data and Analytics Firm Engage, Solidifying Its Global Footprint December—2021 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Fingerpaint Acquires MedThink, Adding Medical Communications to Its Suite of Capabilities December—2021 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Pattern Secures $225M Growth Equity Investment Led by Knox Lane October—2021 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Knox Lane Announces Investment in Any Hour Services July—2021 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Fingerpaint Acquires Splice, Boosting the Company’s West Coast Presence May—2021 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Fingerpaint Announces Strategic Investment in Leaderboard Branding March—2021 · Invest
- Sep 15, 2026Knox Lane Announces Strategic Investment in Fingerpaint December—2020 · Invest
- Jul 21, 2026
- Jun 9, 2026Knox Lane LP: Private Equity Funds on Form ADV 17 (2024 extract) -> 22 (roster 2026-09-01)
- May 6, 2026Cross Country Healthcare to be Acquired by Knox Lane in All-Cash Transaction Valued at $437 Million
- Jun 30, 2025Massachusetts Pension Reserves Investment Management Board reports Knox Lane: an undisclosed amount committedLp commitment disclosedFactMassachusetts Pension Reserves Investment Management BoardPublic pension private-markets disclosures, read through the venture lane's LP report tape
- May 3, 2024All Star Healthcare Solutions Partners with Knox Lane
- Jan 17, 2020Knox Lane LP first filed Form ADV in the extract (IA)
Knox Lane LP is the same institution as 3 records in Independent Sponsors, RIA and Wealth and Allocators.
Which record it is in each graph, what it is called there, and what the two were joined on. The Data Factory holds all nine graphs and the identity layer between them.
Checking your plan…