DFX Intelligence
Venture Capital Intelligence
Firms, funds, partners, companies and rounds from sworn filings, firm sites and announcements, kept as a graph with a date and a source on every edge. Facts, inferences and estimates are labelled as such. A fund target is never a close, GAV is never dry powder, and a round size is never an investor’s check.
Firms / Motley Fool Ventures
Motley Fool Ventures
corporate parent: The Motley Fool Holdings, Inc.
Importance
39
elevated
Active deployment
30
moderate
Emerging
0
low
Completeness
69
high
Freshness
100
high
Research priority
14
low
Identity and regulatory footprint
- Headquarters
- Alexandria, VAadviserinfo.sec.gov
- Office address
- 2000 DUKE STREET, SUITE 300, Alexandria, VA, 22314adviserinfo.sec.gov
- Business phone
- 703-838-3665adviserinfo.sec.gov
- Website
- HTTPS://WWW.FOOLVENTURES.COM
- SEC adviser type
- exempt reporting adviseradviserinfo.sec.gov
- SEC exemption claimed
- venture capital fund adviseradviserinfo.sec.govItem 2.B(1): advises solely venture capital funds
- Latest Form ADV
- Dec 23, 2025
- Private funds reported
- 2 (2 venture capital funds)adviserinfo.sec.gov
- Private fund gross assets
- $307Madviserinfo.sec.govreported GAV of the funds, the adviser's own number; not fund size, not dry powder
- Owners on Schedule A
- The Motley Fool Holdings, Inc. (Member), E
- business email
- media@foolventures.comfoolventures.compublished by the subject
- business phone
- 703-838-3665adviserinfo.sec.govpublished by the subject
Stated thesis versus observed behaviour
60 observed deals
Stated (the firm’s website)
- Sectors
- ai, biotech, consumer, data infrastructure, media
- Stages
- series b, early
- Geography
- not stated
- Check size
- not stated; DFX does not estimate checks from round sizes
- Self-described
- venture capital
Observed (from deals on record)
Stage at participation
series a 100%
Stage at first entry
series a 100%
Sectors
unknown 78%Other Technology 19%Business Services 2%Other Health Care 2%
lead rate 0%follow-on rate 0%new logos, 12 months 60
Funds and vehicles
2 reported, 1 no longer reported
| Vehicle | Type | Vintage | Lifecycle | Reported GAV | Owners | Form D sold | Latest Form D |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Motley Fool Ventures II Fool Collective LP | Fund | 2022 form d first sale | Active deployment | $106M Dec 18, 2024 | 385 | $94.0M | Nov 22, 2023 |
| Motley Fool Ventures LP | Fund | 2018 form d first sale | Harvest | $208M Dec 18, 2024 | 650 | $146M of $146M | Nov 15, 2018 |
| Motley Fool Ventures II LP | Fund | 2022 adv first reported | Wound down | $100M Dec 21, 2023 | 5 | unknown | unknown |
GAV is the gross asset value the adviser reported on Form ADV for the vehicle, never the fund’s committed size and never dry powder. Form D sold is the amount sold as of the latest filing, never a final close.
Investment team
19 current, 2 departed
David Gardner
Board or advisoryAdvisor
Nicholas John Crow
Founder or executivePresident, Motley Fool Investment Management Llc · since Jan 1, 2022
Jennifer Kasse
Investor relationsDirector of Events and Investor Relations
Brendan John Matthews
Managing partnerManaging Partner · since Apr 1, 2023
Brendan Mathews
Managing partnerManaging Partner
David Herr Gardner
OtherStockholder · since Jul 1, 1996
Get In Touch
OtherPortfolio
Thomas Murphy Gardner
OtherStockholder · since Jul 1, 1996
Kristine Harjes
PartnerPartner
Rob Runett
PartnerPartner
Robert Neil Runett
PartnerPartner · since Jul 1, 2018
Harry D Hsing
Platform and operationsGeneral Counsel · since Sep 1, 2023
Harry Hsing
Platform and operationsGeneral Counsel
Mary Kate Pennington
Platform and operationsDirector of Finance
John Keeling
Venture partnerVenture Partner
Lawrence Greenberg
Venture partnerVenture Partner
Lawrence T Greenberg
Venture partnerChief Compliance Officer, Venture Partner · since Jul 1, 2018
Abigail Malin
Vice presidentSenior Associate
Natalie Poston
Vice presidentSenior Associate
2 departed (kept with end dates)
- Ollen Carl Douglass · Managing Partner · Jul 1, 2018 to Apr 28, 2023 Inference
- Randal Richard Coon · Appointed Manager · Apr 1, 2019 to Feb 18, 2022 Inference
Investments on record
60 edges, 59 companies, 0 partner-attributed
“This investor” is the amount disclosed for this investor alone; it is unknown unless a source said it. The round size is the whole round.
Co-investors
40 relationships from shared deals, counted for the whole firm
Swan & Legend 2 shared · recurringRipple Manager Inc. 2 shared · recurringParade Ventures Management, LLC 2 shared · recurringMenlo Ventures 2 shared · recurringA-Star Partners, LLC 2 shared · recurringQED Investors, LLC 2 shared · recurringIN Venture 1 shared · one timeCore Venture Capital 1 shared · one timeV1 Vc, LLC 1 shared · one timeSiddhi Capital, LLC 1 shared · one timeIA Capital Group, Inc. 1 shared · one timeHannah Grey Ventures, LLC 1 shared · one time1984 Ventures Management, LLC 1 shared · one timeBullvc Fund Management LLC 1 shared · one timeBridge Investments LLC 1 shared · one timeManhattan West Asset Management, LLC 1 shared · one timeHyde Park Venture Partners 1 shared · one timeAnthemis 1 shared · one timeN49p Management, LLC 1 shared · one timePA Capital Management LLC 1 shared · one timeEudemian Ventures, LLC 1 shared · one timeActivant Capital Group LLC 1 shared · one timeGrand Ventures 1 shared · one timeU.S. Venture Partners 1 shared · one timeSJW Investments, LLC 1 shared · one timeE14 Management, LLC 1 shared · one timeTeamworthy Group LLC 1 shared · one timeSeedcamp Investment Management LLP 1 shared · one timeHivemind Capital Partners LLC 1 shared · one timeVertex Ventures 1 shared · one timePHX Ventures 1 shared · one timeVesey Ventures LP 1 shared · one timeTask Force X Capital Management, LLC 1 shared · one timeDeepwater Asset Management, LLC 1 shared · one timeGolden Ventures 1 shared · one timeAurora Management LLC 1 shared · one timeModerne Capital, LP 1 shared · one timeGrotech Management Company 1 shared · one timeBlue Bear Investment Group, LLC 1 shared · one timeFirstmark Capital, LLC 1 shared · one time
Limited partners
0 disclosed
No LP commitment on record. An LP edge needs a public disclosure with a quote: a pension report (see Limited partners for the plans read), a fund announcement naming the LP, or a Form ADV owner. The fund page carries the LP’s reported performance.
Timeline
11 dated events
- Dec 18, 2024Motley Fool Ventures II LP no longer reported on Form ADV by Motley Fool VenturesFund no longer reportedFundsInferenceMotley Fool Ventures II LPSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- Sep 1, 2023Harry D Hsing joined Schedule A of Motley Fool Ventures as General Counsel
- Apr 28, 2023Ollen Carl Douglass (Managing Partner) no longer on Schedule A of Motley Fool Ventures
- Apr 1, 2023Brendan John Matthews joined Schedule A of Motley Fool Ventures as Managing Partner
- Dec 22, 2022Motley Fool Ventures II LP first reported on Form ADV by Motley Fool Ventures (Venture Capital Fund), GAV $10,283,359Fund first reported on Form ADVFundsFactMotley Fool Ventures II LPSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- Dec 22, 2022Motley Fool Ventures II Fool Collective LP first reported on Form ADV by Motley Fool Ventures (Venture Capital Fund), GAV $9,782,493Fund first reported on Form ADVFundsFactMotley Fool Ventures II Fool Collective LPSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- Feb 18, 2022Randal Richard Coon (Appointed Manager) no longer on Schedule A of Motley Fool Ventures
- Jan 1, 2022Nicholas John Crow joined Schedule A of Motley Fool Ventures as President, Motley Fool Investment Management Llc
- Apr 1, 2019Randal Richard Coon joined Schedule A of Motley Fool Ventures as Appointed Manager
- Sep 18, 2018Motley Fool Ventures LP first reported on Form ADV by Motley Fool Ventures (Venture Capital Fund), GAV $45,000,000Fund first reported on Form ADVFundsFactMotley Fool Ventures LPSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
- Sep 18, 2018Motley Fool Ventures first filed Form ADV (ERA, venture capital fund adviser exemption)First SEC adviser filingOrganizationFactSEC Form ADV filing data 2011 to 2024 (every filing, Schedule D 7.B.(1) private funds, Schedules A/B)
Classification history
- Sep 12, 2026Corporate venture (confirmed, 95%, cls-1)corporate parent: The Motley Fool Holdings, Inc.
Evidence
52 observations from 3 sources